Life

Cool and fresh

Image

That’s today. It’s spring, we can tell by the flowers pushing up on every street corner and the interminable bird song from the heights of every budding tree, but it’s a crisp 34 degrees. It seemed that a light, quick, green lunch was on order for the day, so I made this fantastic cilantro noodle bowl.

Something about the words “noodle bowl” to me contain the essence of comfort, simplicity, and wholesomeness.

First, I should say that I don’t use recipes past a source of inspiration. I tend to look them over, get a general idea of whatever is being made, and start cooking as however the ingredient spirits move me. Some of you, however, are probably not as in touch with your culinary muse (although I know many of you are!) So here is a brief recipe for inspiration:

1 serving of Asian noodles of choice (I used wheat, but rice or buckwheat would also be yummy)
Cook as per directions, rinse with cold water.
Meanwhile, in a bowl mix about
2 tablespoons sesame oil,
1 tablespoon sweet rice seasoning,
1 tablespoon sushi vinegar (or white vinegar)
1 tablespoon brown sugar
splash of soy sauce
splash of fish sauce
Add to this:
chopped fresh cilantro (I used about 1/2 c. packed, but I am a cilantro fiend) 
grated ginger (mine was from a jar)

Add noodles, mix.

Yum! Have a great day, friends.

 

Leave a Reply

